Dr. Rabindranath Mukherjee           

 Professor of Chemistry                    

E-mail: rnm@iitk.ac.in

Fax: +91-512-259-7437


Complete CV 

Rabindranath Mukherjee, known as R N Mukherjee, (born on April 19, 1953 at Tribeni, Hooghly; West Bengal, India) an MSc (Specialization in Inorganic Chemistry)  from The University of Burdwan (1976), West Bengal, India obtained his PhD  from The University of Calcutta (1983) working in the laboratory of Prof. Animesh Chakravorty, the then Head, Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS), Calcutta (now Kolkata).  After spending two years in the same laboratory as a post-doctoral research associate he joined the research group of Prof. R. H. Holm, Department of Chemistry, Harvard University, USA during May 1985-September 1987. He became a member of the faculty as an Assistant Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur, India in October 1987.  Since December 1995 he is a Professor of Chemistry. Currently he is Head of Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur, India. His hobbies include listening to music and watching movies.

Awards/Honors and Fellowships

  • Chair Professor at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, (Poonam and Prabhu Goel Chair) (2011-2014)
  • Priyadaranjan Ray Memorial Award, Indian Chemical Society, Kolkata (2010)
  • J. C. Bose Fellowship, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India (2008-2013)
  • Elected Fellow of Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, India (2008)
  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1999)
  • Silver Medal, Chemical Research Society of India, Bangalore, Bangalore (2011)
  • Vice President, Chemical Research Society of India (2008- )
  • Member, Advisory Board of Dalton Transactions (RSC) (2008-2011)
  • Member, Editorial Board of Inorganica Chimica Acta (Elsevier) (2011-2013)

Professional Membership

  • Life Member, Chemical Research Society of India (1999- )
  • Member, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (2003- )
  • Member, American Chemical Society, USA (1999- )