Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur - 208016 (India)


Fellowships, Awards and Recognitions

Fellowships and Awards

  1. Received the Vigyan Ratna Samman (Jewel of Science Honor) award from the Council of Science & Technology, Uttar Pradesh (India) (Dept. of Science & Technology, Government of Uttar Pradesh, India) in 2018. [This award is given to a scientist  for the continuous contribution to science, special scientific achievement or innovation, special scientific achievements or innovation, special science writing or outstanding technology development. ]

  2. Received the Fellowship of Indian Academy for Mathematical Modeling and Simulation (IAMMS), India in 2018.

  3. Received the  Pandit Girish Ranjan and Sushama Rani Pathak Chair Professorship  for a period of 3 years from 2017-2020 by the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (India).

  4. Received the IISA Young Researcher Award  in 2014 in the Theory Category  from the International Indian Statistical Association. [IISA awards Young Researcher Awardin Applications to recognize outstanding contribution made in the areas of Statistics, Probability & related fields.]

  5. Received the National Award for Young Statisticians -- Professor C.R. Rao Award in 2011 for the significant work in the field of statistics by the Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation, Government of India.

  6. Received the Bharat Shiksha Ratna Award in 2009 for by the GSHEG, India.

  7. Received Mahalanobis Memorial Medal (MMM) - National Award for the  year 2008  for the contribution in quantitative economics by the Indian Econometric Society, India in 2011.

  8. Received Mercator Visiting Professorship from Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation (DFG)), Germany to work at Institute of Statistics, Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, Germany in 2007 for nine months. (Could not avail)

  9. Received Humboldt Fellowship from Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany to work at Institute of Statistics, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany in 2006 for eighteen months.

  10. Received BOYSCAST fellowship to do Post-doc research with Professor Leon J. Gleser at the Department of Statistics, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, U.S.A. in 2001 for one year.

  11. Received Young Scientist Award entitled `ISCA Young Scientists' Award' of the Indian Science Congress Association, India in 1999.

  12. Received Young Statistician Award entitled `Jan Tinbergen Award' of the International Statistical Institute (The Netherlands) in 1995.

  13. Honoured by The Minister, Ministry of Planning and Implementation, Government of India and Department of Statistics (Central Statistical Organization and National Sample Surveys Organization), Government of India for the Young Statisticians Award in February, 1995.

  14. Qualified National Eligibility Test (NET) for Lectureship jointly conducted by U.G.C. / C.S.I.R. in December, 1992.

  15. Recipient of Junior Research Fellowship (J.R.F.) of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (C.S.I.R.), India from July, 1993 to May, 1995.

  16. Received travel grants several times from International Statistical Institute (The Netherlands), Royal Statistical Society (U.K.), National Board of Higher Mathematics (N.B.H.M.) (India), Ministry of Planning and Implementation (India) and other organizations.



  1. Chairman of the Advisory Committee for Investor Survey 2020, Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) for conducting the national level surveys, viz., SEBI survey of Household Investors 2020 and SEBI Digital Survey of Investors 2020. 

  2. Nominated  as "Person of the Week" by the National Digital Library of India  for scholarly online contributions of lecture notes on various topics in Statistics for the students and academicians, made specially available during this Pandemic COVID-19 in May 2020.

  3. Member of sub-committee on scoping and product development for utilisation of artificial intelligence in public health, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India, since 2020.

  4. Member of sub-committee on on legal and policy frameworks for the utilisation of artificial intelligence in public health, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India, since 2020.

  5. Member of  Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur  for two years during 2020-21. Board comprises of eminent educationists and administrators for governing the IIT Kanpur.

  6. Nominated  as "Faculty in Focus" by the Center for Continuing Education (CCE), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur for academic contributions made in distance and continuing education, conduct of workshops for helping the students, professionals as well as academicians and popularizing the subject in the country.  

  7. Chairman, Department Advisory Group, Department of Mathematics and Scientific Computing, Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology, Gorakhpur, India for 2019-20.

  8. Member of a committee constituted by National Testing Agency (NTA), Govt. of India for normalization of the marks of Joint Entrance Examination JEE (Mains) in 2018-19.

  9. Member of the organizing committee of international workshop on "TLS and Errors-in-variables Modeling'' organized at Leuven, Belgium in 2006.

  10. Invited contributor of SciTopic Pages.

  11. Work referred in the book entitled `Linear Models: Least Squares And Alternatives` by C.R. Rao and H. Toutenburg, Second Edition, 1999, Springer-Verlag.