Sandeep Verma completed his doctoral work from University of Illinois Medical Center, Chicago (1994), followed by postdoctoral stints at Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, USA, and at Max-Planck-Institute for experimentelle Medizin, Goettingen, Germany. He joined Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, in 1997, where he currently holds the positions of Professor of Chemistry and Shri Deva Raj Endowed Chair Professor. He is also an affiliated faculty in DST Thematic Unit of Excellence on Soft Nanofabrication and Center for Environmental Science and Engineering, at IIT Kanpur. His work has been recognized by DAE-SRC Outstanding Investigator Award (2012), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Chemical Sciences (2010), CDRI Award for Excellence in Drug Research (2009), Swarnajayanti Fellowship (2005), B M Birla Science Prize (2004), to name a few. He is an elected Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Sciences, India, and also a Senior Fellow, The Zukunftskolleg, University of Konstanz, Germany. He serves on the editorial advisory boards of Chemical Communications, Chemistry & Biology and Journal of Chemical Sciences. His research interests include metal-nucleobase interactions, peptide/protein self-assembly, and programmable soft matter.

Contact information:

Prof. Sandeep Verma, FASc, FNASc

Shri Deva Raj Chair Professor

Department Of Chemistry

DST Unit of Excellence on Soft Nanofabrication

Center for Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Indian Institute Of Technology-Kanpur

Kanpur-208 016 (UP)

Office: 206E Core Labs

Phone: 0512-259-7643 (O), 259-7962 (Lab)