Issues Published (till March 2013):

Vol. 35, No. 1-3




Vol. 35, No. 4 (Special)



Vol. 36, No. 1



Vol. 36, No. 2-4



Vol. 37, No. 1-3



Vol. 37, No. 4 (Special)


Vol. 38, No. 1



Vol. 38, No. 2-4



Vol. 39, No. 1-2



Vol. 39, No. 3



Vol. 39, No. 4



Vol. 40, No. 1



Vol. 40, No. 2-4



Vol. 41, No. 1 (Special)



Vol. 41, No. 2-4



Vol. 42, No. 1



Vol. 42, No. 2-3



Vol. 42, No. 4 (Special)



Vol. 43, No. 1-2



Vol. 43, No. 3



Vol. 43, No. 4



Vol. 44, No. 1 (Special)



Vol. 44, No. 2



Vol. 44, No. 3-4



Vol. 45, No. 1-2

Vol. 45, No. 3-4



Vol. 46, No. 1

Vol. 46, No. 2

Vol. 46, No. 3-4

Vol. 47, No. 1

Vol. 47, No. 2-4

Vol. 48, No. 1

Vol. 48, No. 2-4

Vol. 49, No. 1-2

Vol. 49, No. 3-4

Vol. 50, No. 1




Editor (till March 2013)

Vinay K. Gupta

Department of Civil Engineering

IIT Kanpur, Kanpur-208016, India

Tel: +91-512-2591828, 2598425 (home), 2597118 (work)

Fax: +91-512-2597395, 2590260

E-mail: vinaykg@iitk.ac.in


Associate Editors (till March 2013)

Structural Dynamics

C.S. Manohar

Department of Civil Engineering

IISc, Bangalore-560012, India

Tel: +91-80-23606961 (home), 22933121 (work)

Fax: +91-80-23600404

E-mail: manohar@civil.iisc.ernet.in


Soil Dynamics

G.V. Ramana

Department of Civil Engineering

IIT Delhi, Hauz Khas

New Delhi-110016, India

Tel: +91-11-26526639, 26591551 (home), 26591214 (work)

Fax: +91-11-26581117, 26862037   

E-mail: ramana@civil.iitd.ac.in


Seismology and Seismotectonics

M.L. Sharma

Department of Earthquake Engineering

IIT Roorkee, Roorkee-247667, India

Tel: +91-1332-285055 (home), 285536 (work)

Fax: +91-1332-276899   

E-mail: mukutfeq@iitr.ernet.in


Advisory Members (till March 2013)

D.P. Abrams (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)



G.M. Calvi (European Centre for Training and Research in Earthquake Engineering, Italy)



A.K. Chopra (University of California at Berkeley, USA)



T.K. Datta (Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India)



Peter Fajfar (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)



S.K. Ghosh (S.K. Ghosh Associates Inc., USA)



S.C. Goel (University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, USA)



I.D. Gupta (Central Water and Power Research Station, India)



R.N. Iyengar (Indian Institute of Science, India)



Cinna Lomnitz (Ciudad Universitaria, Mexico D.F.)



J.P. Moehle (University of California at Berkeley, USA)



D.K. Paul (Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India)



Robert Reitherman (Consortium of Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering, USA)



K.M. Rollins (Brigham Young University, USA)



M.P. Singh (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA)



Stefano Tinti (University of Bologna, Italy)



M.D. Trifunac (University of Southern California, USA)





The ISET Journal of Earthquake Technology is published quarterly in the months of March, June, September, and December by the Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (ISET). It was first published in 1964 under the name of Bulletin of the Indian Society of Earthquake Technology and subsequently was given its present name effective from 1998. Research papers, technical notes, state of the art papers and reports on damaging earthquakes which have not been previously published or offered for publication elsewhere are considered for publication in the ISET Journal. Discussions on any paper previously published in the Journal are also considered for publication. Articles submitted to the Journal should be original and should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere at the same time.



The membership of the Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (ISET) is open to all individuals and institutions connected with or interested in any scientific, engineering and other aspects of earthquake technology. Membership form may be obtained from Secretary, Indian Society of Earthquake Technology, Earthquake Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee-247667, India on request or may be downloaded (MSWord File).


For ISET members, subscription to the ISET Journal is included in the membership fee. The subscriptions are by annual volume only. The subscription rate for non-members is Rs. 1500 (USD 150) per volume. The back issues of the Journal (and Bulletin) can be obtained from the Secretary subject to the availability in stock. Each back issue costs Rs. 500 (USD 30 with air-mail delivery) for the regular issues and Rs. 1000 (USD 50 with air-mail delivery) for the special issues.



Communications regarding the fresh submission of papers or during the review process of already submitted papers should be directed to the Editor or to the Associate Editor concerned.


Communications regarding the status of publication of an accepted paper should be directed to the Co-Editor.


Communications regarding the change of address, subscription renewals, missed issues etc. should be directed to Secretary, Indian Society of Earthquake Technology, Department of Earthquake Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee-247667, India (bkmahfeq@iitr.ernet.in).



1.      The PDF file of the manuscript should be submitted to the Editor electronically (vinaykg@iitk.ac.in) for possible publication of an article in the Journal. The submission may alternatively be made to an Associate Editor (manohar@civil.iisc.ernet.in for papers related to Structural Dynamics; ramana@civil.iitd.ac.in for Soil Dynamics; and mukutfeq@iitr.ernet.in for Seismology and Seismotectonics).

2.      After publication of a paper, the corresponding author is sent 25 reprints of the paper and a copy of the Journal issue free of charge. Request for additional reprints must be made immediately after the acceptance of the paper is communicated to the authors. Additional reprints are made available @ Rs. 5 (USD 1) per reprint with a minimum charge of Rs. 100 (USD 25).

3.      Following are specific requirements with regard to articles and formats:

(A)  Headings should be in bold uppercase and not numbered. Sub-headings should be in bold lower case and may be numbered.

(B)  Figures and tables should be numbered consecutively in Arabic numerals and should be titled. Figure captions should be given on a separate sheet.

(C)  Good glossy bromide prints of photographs and illustrations must accompany the manuscript and not be attached to the manuscript pages.

(D)  References should be listed alphabetically at the end of the text and numbered serially. These should be cited in the text by the last name(s) of authors followed by the year of publication in parenthesis. In case of more than two authors, the last name of the first author followed by et al. and the year of publication is to be cited in the text. References are to be listed in the following format only:

1.      Krishna, J. and Chandrasekaran, A.R. (1964). "Earthquake Resistant Design of an Elevated Water Tower", Bull. Indian Soc. of Earthquake Tech., Vol. 1, No. 1, pp. 20-36.

2.      Prakash, S. (1960). ``Soil Dynamics'', McGraw Hill Book Co., New Delhi.

3.      Wason, H.R., Sharma, M.L., Pal, K. and Srivastava, L.S. (1986). "Digital Telemetered Seismic Array in Ganga-Yamuna Valley", Proc. 8th Symposium on Earthquake Engg., Roorkee, Vol. 2, pp. 91--99.

4.      Rai, D.C., Narayan, J.P., Pankaj and Kumar, A. (1997). "Jabalpur Earthquake of May 22, 1997: Reconnaissance Report", Department of Earthquake Engineering, University of Roorkee, Roorkee.

(E)   Abstract should not exceed 150 words and be an abbreviated, accurate representation of the contents of the article. It should be followed by a list of 3 to 5 key words of these contents.

(F)   All quantities should be in SI units. Other units may be enclosed in parenthesis after the SI units, if necessary.