UCB Seal


A K Chaturvedi


Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi received the B.Tech., M.Tech., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur in 1986, 1988, and 1995, respectively. He served the Department of Electronics Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi from 1994 to 1996. Subsequently, he joined the faculty of the Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. In 1999, he moved to Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur where he also held the positions of Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering, Dean of Research & Development and Deputy Director. He is now the Director of IIT Roorkee. Prof. Chaturvedi was the Coordinator of the BSNL-IITK Telecom Centre of Excellence which has done a large number of projects for the Indian telecom sector. He is a recipient of the Distinguished Teacher award of IIT Kanpur and Tan Chin Tuan Fellowship of Nanyang Technical University, Singapore. Prof. Chaturvedi is a member of the Nomination and Election Committee of IEEE Communication Society. He has also served on the Teaching Awards Committee of IEEE. He is a founding member of the Telecom Standards Development Society of India (TSDSI) and the current Chair of the Joint Telematics Group which organizes the annual National Conference on Communications. Prof. Chaturvedi was a member of the DoT committee which recommended criteria for spectrum allocation to telecom operators, in 2008. His research interests are in Communication Theory and Wireless Communications. He has supervised a large number of graduate students and publishes regularly in IEEE journals in the area of Communications and flagship conferences of IEEE Communication Society. He is known for his contributions to waveform shaping and sequence design. Nowadays, he is working on the detection problem in massive MIMO systems.