Vinod K. Singh

 P R O F E S S O R

Vinod K. Singh


Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal
Bhopal By-pass Road, Bhauri
Bhopal - 462 066
Ph: +91 755 669 2316
Fax: +91 755 669 2392


Mr. Mayank Sharma
Ph: +91 755 669 2316


Personal Assistant
Mr. Ritesh Mishra
Ph: +91 755 669 2316



Department of Chemistry
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Kanpur - 208 016
Ph: +91 512 259 7291


Vinod K Singh

Professor Vinod Kumar Singh was born in a village, Anantpur of Azamgarh. He did M.Sc. (Chemistry) from BHU in 1980 and Ph.D. at Malti-Chem Research Center Nandesari, Baroda under the guidance of Dr. Sukh Dev. He spent two years (1985-1987) in Canada at University of Calgary and University of British Columbia and three years at Harvard University (Advisor: Professor E. J. Corey, Nobel Laureate) in U.S.A, as a post-doctoral fellow. After a brief stint as a senior scientist at Neurogen Corporation, USA, Professor Singh joined IIT Kanpur as an Assistant Professor (Chemistry) in 1990 and rose to a level of Professor. He also held a position of Umang Gupta Chair Professor in the Institute.

Professor Singh's research work falls in the area of synthetic organic chemistry, more specifically, asymmetric synthesis. He has developed several new chiral ligands/catalysts for enantioselective reactions. He has accomplished total synthesis of several bioactive natural products.

Professor Singh is a Regional Editor of an Organic Chemistry journal - Tetrahedron Lett. He has been recognized in the form of several awards and honors such as Distinguished Alumnus Award by BHU (2012), Goyal Award (2011), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize (2004), and Swarnajayanti Fellowship Award (1998), among others. In addition, he has been elected as a Fellow of all the important academies of the country. He has been honored with Padma Shri (2014), a civilian award by the Government of India.

He is currently on deputation as a Founder Director of IISER Bhopal since 12th June 2008. He is a Mentor Director of IISER Berhampur. He was also discharged with responsibilities as a Founder Director of SPA Bhopal (additional charge) and Chairman of BoG, NITTTR Bhopal. He had been a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC to PM) during 2009-2014.