Vinod K. Singh

 P R O F E S S O R

Vinod K Singh

Vinod K. Singh

Chair Professor
Department of Chemistry
IIT Kanpur 208016
Ph: +91 512 259 7291
Ph: +91 512 679 7291

Ms. Ankita Dubey

Ph: +91 512 259 7577
Ph: +91 512 679 7577

Chairman, Governing Council
IACS Kolkata

Director’s Chair Professor
IISER Bhopal

Adjunct Professor
NIPER Hyderabad

Google Scholar Link


Professor Vinod Singh is currently Rahula and Namita Gautam Chair Professor at IIT Kanpur. He is also Director's Chair Professor at IISER Bhopal & adjunct Professor at NIPER Hyderabad. He is currently the President, Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) and the Chairperson, Governing Council of IACS Kolkata.

Born on 9th September, 1959 in Anantpur, a village near Nizamabad in the district of Azamgarh (U.P.), Vinod Singh had his early education from his native place. He passed high school and intermediate from Wesley Inter College and B.Sc. (1978) from D.A.V. College, all from Azamgarh. He did M.Sc. in Chemistry from B.H.U. (1980) and Ph.D. under the guidance of Dr Sukh Dev from Malti-Chem Research Center, Nandesari, Baroda (Degree awarded in 1986 by M.S. University). He was conferred upon D.Sc. (honoris causa) by Jabalpur University in 2012.

Professor Singh spent 2 years for his postdoctoral work in Canada (1985-1987) at the University of Calgary and the University of British Columbia. He subsequently moved to the U.S.A. to do other postdoctoral work (1987-1990) at Harvard University with Professor E. J. Corey, a Nobel Laureate. After a brief stint as a Senior Scientist at Neurogen Corporation, CT, USA, Vinod Singh joined IIT Kanpur in 1990 as an Assistant Professor and rose to the rank of Professor.

Professor Singh's research falls in the area of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, more specifically, asymmetric synthesis. He has been recognized with several awards and honors such as Swarnajayanti Fellowship (1998), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (2004) and Padma Shri (2014), among others. In addition, he has been elected as a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (FNA), Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc), National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), and The World Academy of Sciences (FTWAS).

Professor Singh is an Editor of an Elsevier journal - Tetrahedron Lett. He is a Member, Editorial Advisory Board of Org. Lett. and J. Org. Chem., Asian J. Org. Chem., and Org. Chem. Frontiers.

He has made significant contributions in the management of higher educational institutes, science education, science policy, and planning. In 2020, he was awarded a TWAS-CASAREP award for building scientific institutions.

As a Founding Director of IISER Bhopal for more than 10 years (2008-2018), Professor Singh set up the whole campus in 200 acres of land from scratch. He has served as the Mentor Director of IISER Berhampur, Director of SPA Bhopal (additional charge) and the Chairman of BoG, NITTTR Bhopal. He also held the additional charge of Directorship of MANIT Bhopal and the Mentor Director of IIIT Bhopal.

Professor Singh had been a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC to PM) during 2009-2014.