Nalinaksh S. Vyas

Emeritus Fellow
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Kanpur - 208016, INDIA
Phone: +91 512 2597040 (O); +91 9956292801 (M)
Fax: + 91 512 2597232, 2590007
   WCEAM 2024, 23-25 Oct.2024, New Delhi

   18th World Congress on Engineering Asset Management

   Industry 4.0

    Economic Times
Deccan Herald
Business Standard
    NDTV  Financial Express
Technology Mission for Indian Railways, TMIR
    Rail Budget (2015) Announcement
Chairman, TMIR
    IITK NanoSat         
    India Today (2010), One of the 20 Innovators Changing Our
     Rural Technology Action Group

Emeritus Fellow - Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Former Chairman -  Technology Mission for Indian Railways (TMIR)
Ministry of Railways, Government of India

(May 2015 - April 2022)

Academic Experience

Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1999 -- June 2024
Invited Professor-   INSA Lyon, France, 2005
Associate Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1994–99
Visiting Professor-   National Chung-Cheng University, Taiwan, 1996
Indo-US Fellow-   Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA, 1994.
Assistant Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1987-94.
Apprentice Engg-   Godrej & Boyce Mfg Company Pvt. Ltd, Bombay, 1980 - 81.
Visiting Professor-   Luleå University of Technology, Sweden, 2013, 2014
Visiting Professor-   University of Mauritius, 2013-2017
Visiting Professor-   City University of Hong Kong, 2018
Visiting Professor-   Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China, 2018


Chairman -   Technology Mission for Indian Railways (TMIR), May, May 2015 -- April 2022
Vice Chancellor-   Rajasthan Technical University, 2013 - 15
Member Board of Governors-   IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) Jodhpur, 2014 -2018
Member Board of Governors-   MNIT (Malaviya National Institute of Technology) Jaipur, 2016 --
Member Executive Committee-   AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education), 2014 - 2018
Member Board of Governors-   J L Nehru Aluminium Research, Design & Dev Centre, Nagpur, 2016 --
Chairman PARC-   Technology Systems Development Program (TSDP), DST, 2016 - -
Chairman PARC-   Technology Enabling Centres, DST, 2018 --
Chairman PARC-  AGRO-Tech Program, DST, 2019 - -
Chairman Apex Committee- TRL Assessment (National Res. Labs, Academia, ATAL Innov. Labs, TBIs), TIFAC, 2019 - -
Member Advisory Committee -  Common Res & Tech Development Hubs (CRTD-Hubs), DSIR, 2020--
Member-   Advisory Group of Experts (AGE), ‘Make in India’ in Railways, NITI Aayog, 2015 --
Member-   SHRI, Science Heritage Research Initiative, DST, 2017--
Chairman-   Expert Group on Smart Mfg - Automation & ICT Advanced Robotics (AR) & IoT, DST, 2016
Head-   Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, 2008-11
Head-   Nuclear Engg & Technology Program, IIT Kanpur, 2008-11
Head-   Centre for Robotics, IIT Kanpur, 2008
Mission Coordinator -   Technology Mission on Railway Safety, Govt of India, 2005-09
Chairman -   Automotive PARC, National Program on Micro & Smart Structures, NPMASS, 2006 - 2015
Project Coordinator-   Nano-Satellite, JUGNU Project with ISRO, 2009 – 2012.
Project Coordinator-   Rural Technology Action Group, RuTAG @ IITK, Office of the PSA, GoI, 2013
Consortium Leader-   Electronic Stability Program, Core Group on Automotive Research, DST, 2006 -09
Member-   Expert Task Force on IVHM of LCA (Light Combat Aircraft), Aeronautical Defense Agency (ADA), 2014
Founding Head -   Innovation Lab – 4i Lab, IIT Kanpur, 2003 – 2009
Founding Director-   International Society for Engg Asset Management, Australia, 2006
Editor-   Journal of Rail & Rapid Transit, 2018 --
Editor-   Journal of Vibration Engineering & Technology, 2016--
Editor (mid-Asia)-   International Jnl of Engineering Asset Management, 2005-10
Editor-   ISSS Journal (International Society of Smart Systems), 2008 - 13
Editor-   Advances in Vibration Engineering, 2008-12
Editor -   Intln Jnl of Condition Monitoring & Diagnostic Engg Mgmt (COMADEM)
Member-   Indo-US Task Force on Embedded Systems, 2012
Member-   Working Group on Energy Research, Planning Comm., 2000