Nalinaksh S. Vyas

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur - 208016, INDIA
Phone: 0512 2597040 (O), 0512 2598423 (H)
Fax: + 91 512 2597232, 2590007

Chairman,-  Technology Mission for Indian Railways (TMIR)
Ministry of Railways, Government of India

Academic Experience

Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1999
Invited Professor-   INSA Lyon, France, 2005
Associate Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1994–99
Visiting Professor-   National Chung-Cheng University, Taiwan, 1996
Indo-US Fellow-   Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA, 1994.
Assistant Professor-   Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1987-94.
Apprentice Engg-   Godrej & Boyce Mfg Company Pvt. Ltd, Bombay, 1980 - 81.
Visiting Professor-   Luleå University of Technology, Sweden, 2013, 2014
Visiting Professor-   University of Mauritius, 2013-2017
Visiting Professor-   City University of Hong Kong, 2018
Visiting Professor-   Nanjing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics, China, 2018

Administrative Experience

Chairman -   Technology Mission for Indian Railways (TMIR), May, 2015
Vice Chancellor-   Rajasthan Technical University, 2013 - 15
Member Board of Governors-   IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) Jodhpur, 2014
Member Executive Committee-   AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education), 2014
Member Board of Governors-   J L Nehru Aluminium Research, Design & Dev Centre, Nagpur, 2016
Chairman -   Tech Systems Development Program, DST, Min of S&T, 2016
Member-   Advisory Group of Experts (AGE), ‘Make in India’ in Railways, NITI Aayog, 2015 -
Member-   Advanced Manufacturing Technology Program, DST, 2016
Chairman-   Expert Group on Smart Manufacturing - Automation and ICT
Advanced Robotics (AR) & IoT, DST, Govt of India, 2016
Head -   Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, 2008-11
Head-   Nuclear Engg & Technology Program, IIT Kanpur, 2008-11
Head -   Centre for Robotics, IIT Kanpur, 2008
Mission Coordinator -   Technology Mission on Railway Safety, Govt of India, 2005-09
Chairman -   Automotive Parc, National Program on Micro & Smart Structures, NPMASS, 2006 - 2015
Project Coordinator-   Nano-Satellite, JUGNU Project with ISRO, 2009 – 2012.
Project Coordinator-   Rural Technology Action Group, RuTAG @ IITK, Office of the Principal Scientifics Advisor, Govt. of India, 2013
Consortium Leader-   Electronic Stability Program, Core Group on Automotive Research, DST, 2006 -09
Member -   Expert Task Force on IVHM of LCA (Light Combat Aircraft), Aeronautical Defense Agency (ADA), 2014
Founding Head -   Innovation Lab – 4i Lab, IIT Kanpur, 2003 – 2009
Founding Director-   International Society for Engg Asset Management, Australia, 2006
Editor (mid-Asia)-   International Jnl of Engineering Asset Management, 2005-10
Editor-   ISSS Journal (International Society of Smart Systems), 2008 - 13
Editor-   Advances in Vibration Engineering, 2008
Editor -   Intln Jnl of Condition Monitoring & Diagnostic Engg Mgmt (COMADEM),
Member-   Working Group on Energy Research, Planning Comm., 2000.


  1. Featured by India Today (2010), as one of the 20 Innovators Changing Our Lives
  2. Awadh Samman, 2009, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
  3. 4th position, HSSC, Madhya Pradesh Board, 1975

Technology Achievements (Recent -last five years)

  1. Design and development of India’s first nanosatellite, JUGNU, launched from Sriharikota on Oct 12, 2012 (with ISRO).
  2. Successful completion and transfer of technology in the TECHNOLOGY MISSION FOR RAILWAY SAFETY, involving a dozen projects like SIMRAN, Derailment Detection Devices, WILD etc (with RDSO Lucknow).
  3. Development of State-of-Art Instrumentation and Diagnostic Tools for Thermal Power Plant Monitoring and installed for the first time in India in Super Thermal Power Station, Ropar, Punjab (with CSIO Chandigarh & BHEL Hyderabad).
  4. Development of the first commercially viable MEMS based Pressure Sensors in the country for Automotive Applications, under the NPMASS (with SCL Chandigarh and Pricol Coimbatore). Monthly requirement- over 55,000 Nos.