Current Research
Past Group Members


Ashutosh Sharma
Institute Chair Professor &
INAE Visvesvarya Chair Professor &
Coordinator, DST Unit on Nanoscience

Center for Environmental Science and Engineering

Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1987
M.S., Chemical Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, 1984.
B.Tech., Chemical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, 1982.

Research Scientist, Department of Ophthalmology, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1987- 1990.


Phone: 91-512-2597026                   email: ashutos[AT]iitk.ac.in

Research Interests

Selected Recent Publications

  • S. Patil, A. Malasi, A. Majumder, A. Ghatak and A. Sharma, A reusable and antifouling viscoelastic adhesive with an elastic skin,,Langmuir 28, 42-46 (2012). [Media Report]
  • T. Maitra, S. Sharma, A. Srivastava, Y.-K. Cho, M. Madou and A. Sharma, Improved graphitization and electrical conductivity of suspended carbon nanofibers derived from carbon nanotube/polyacrylonitrile composites by directed electrospinning,, Carbon 50, 1753-1761 (2012).
  • A. Verma and A. Sharma, Sub-40 nm polymer dot arrays by self-organized dewetting of e-beam treated ultrathin polymer Films, , RSC Advances 2, 2247-2249 (2012).
  • S. Patil, A. Ranjan and A. Sharma, Pre-fracture instabilities govern generation of self- affine surfaces in tearing of soft viscoelastic elastomeric sheets,, Macromolecules 45, 2066-2073 (2012).DOI: 10.1002/smll.201001939
  • A. Verma, A. Sharma and G. U. Kulkarni, Ultrafast large area micropattern generation in non-absorbing polymer thin-films by pulsed laser diffraction, Small 7, 758-765 (2011).DOI: 10.1002/smll.201001939
  • C. S. Sharma, H. Katepalli, A. Sharma and M. Madou, Fabrication and conductivity measurement of suspended carbon nanofiber arrays, Carbon 49 , 1727-1732 (2011).DOI:10.1016/j.carbon.2010.12.058
  • A. Verma and A. Sharma, Enhanced self-organized dewetting of ultrathin polymer films under water-organic solutions: fabrication of sub-micron spherical lens arrays, Advanced Materials 22, 5306-5309(2010).DOI: 10.1002/adma.201002768
  • P. S. G. Pattader, I. Banerjee, A. Sharma and D. Bandyopadhyay, Multiscale pattern generation in viscoelastic polymer films by spatio-temporal modulation of electric field and control of rheology, Advanced Functional Materials 21, 324335(2011).DOI: 10.1002/adfm.201001206
  •  R. Mukherjee, S. Das, A. Das, S. Sharma, A. K. Raychaudhuri and A. Sharma, Stability and dewetting of metal nanoparticles filled thin polymer films: control of instability length-scale and dynamics, ACS Nano 4, 3709-3724 (2010).
  • J. Sarkar and A. Sharma, A unified theory of instabilities in viscoelastic thin films: from wetting to confined films, from viscous to elastic films, and from short to long waves, Langmuir 26, 84648473 (2010).
  • C. S. Sharma, A. Sharma and M. Madou, Multiscale carbon structures fabricated by direct micro-patterning of electrospun mats of SU-8
    photoresist nanofibers, Langmuir 26, 22182222 (2010).
  • N. Arun, Ashutosh Sharma, Partho S., G. Pattader, Indrani Banerjee, Hemant M. Dixit and K. S. Narayan, Electric-Field-Induced Patterns in Soft Viscoelastic Films: From LongWaves of Viscous Liquids to ShortWaves of Elastic Solids, Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 254502 (2009).
  • R. Mukherjee, D. Bandyopadhyay and A. Sharma, Control of morphology in pattern directed dewetting of thin polymer films, Soft Matter 4, 2086-2097 (2008).
  • M. M. Kulkarni, R. Bandyopadhyaya and A. Sharma, Janus silica film with hydrophobic and hydrophilic surfaces grown at oil-water interface, J. Materials Chem. 18, 1021-1028 (2008).
  • Abhijit Majumder, Animangsu Ghatak and Ashutosh Sharma, Microfluidic Adhesion Induced by Sub-surface Micro-structures, Science, 318, 258-261,(2007). [Perspectives]
  • Das A. L., Katiyer V., Mukherjee R., Kulkarni M., Ghatak A. and Sharma A., Pattern miniaturization using hydrogel, Adv. Mat. DOI: 10.1002/adma.200602681 (2007).
  • Arun N., Sharma A., Shenoy V. and Narayan K. S., Electric field controlled surface instabilities in soft elastic films, Adv. Materials 18, 660-663 (2006).
  • Gonuguntala M., Sharma A., Sarkar J., Subramanian S. A., Ghosh M. and V. Shenoy, Contact Instability in adhesion and debonding of thin elastic films, Phys. Rev. Lett. 97, 018303 (2006).