The  Physics Olympiad  programme in India began in an earnest fashion in 1997. It was an immediate success. The first participation in Rejyavik, Iceland in July 1998 fetched the participants one silver ,  one bronze medal , three honourable mentions, and three special prizes. The second participation in Padua, Italy in July 1999 fetched the participants four silver medals and one bronze medal in addition to one of the five special prizes.  The third participation in Leicester, England in July 2000 fetched the partiicipants two gold medals, two bronze medals, and one honorurable mention. This shining record is by far the best for participating nations.

The programme is overseen by a National Steering Committee (NSC) set up by the Board of Research in Nuclear Science of the Department of Atomic Energy.  The concerned government departments, the Indian Physics Association and the Indian Association of Physics Teachers are represented in the NSC. The implementation of the Physics Olympiad programme is carried out by the Homi Bhabha Center for Science Education (HBCSE) , a National Center of the Tata Institute of Fndamental Research, Mumbai and the Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT). The National Standard Examination in Physics (NSEP) conducted by IAPT in November/December identifies about 200 meritorious students across the nation. These students appear for the Indian National Physics Olympiad (INPhO) exams at about a dozen centres in different parts of the the country. Approximately 35 students are selected to receive NSEP-INPhO gold medals and they undergo a three week long training at the HBCSE, Mumbai in May/June. The top five students among them are identified to receive merit awards at the end of the training camp and to represent India in the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO). The programme strives to maintain international standards and the selection process is rigorous in the extreme.

  The Road to IPhO-2001
 My Home Page


This site is prepared and maintained by  Dr. Vijay A. Singh and Vivek Ranjan .