• "Vibhram" Selected Among Top Innovations for Army Day

    The High Efficiency Dissimilar Coaxial Helicopter design called "Vibhram" a novel helicopter design....

  • Success in First Round of 2018 UAS Flight and Payload Challenge

    A design concept paper submitted by a team (called EndureAir) of students from MAV and VTOL lab of Aerospace Engineering department and guided by Professor Abhishek recently won the first stage of "the Unmanned Aerial Systems Flight and Payload Challenge"...

  • Third Prize in AHS Student Design Competition

    "Vibhram" a novel helicopter design by a team of post graduate students (two PhD and six MTech) from Aerospace Engineering Department of IIT Kanpur have won third prize in the graduate category of 34th Annual Student Design Competition organized by the American Helicopter Society (AHS).


Awards & Peer Recognition (As Faculty)

  • INAE Abdul Kalam Technology Innovation National Fellowship 2018, for the contributions in the field of Aerospace Engineering (Helicopter and Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Technology) from April 2018 to 2021.
  • Class of 1979 Research Fellowship, 2017.
  • Invited to be the member of the executive committee of design division of Aeronautical Society of India, 2017.
  • Invited to peer review committees for Naval Rotary Unmanned Air Vehicle (NRUAV) Program (DRDO, ADE), and Indo-US collaborative project titled “Small Intelligent Unmanned Aerial System (SIUAS)” for CAIR (DRDO), 2016.
  • Invited to the editorial board of “Journal of Unmanned System Technology”, official journal of the International Society of Intelligent Unmanned Systems (ISIUS), 2013.

Awards (As Student)

  • Athena Award for excellent performance in Advanced Mathematics courses, University of Maryland 2010.
  • Richard M. Carlson Scholarship by Vertical Flight Foundation of the American Helicopter Society Ph.D. category, 2008 (1 out of 5 in USA).
  • First Position in design in American Helicopter Society/Agusta Westland student competition, (graduate category) for helicopter design, 2004.
  • President Silver Medal for Best Academician in Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India, 2002.
  • Best Undergraduate Thesis in Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India, 2002.
  • J.C.Ghosh Memorial Prize as topper of Aerospace Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India, 2001.

Awards Won by Students

  • Mr. Sourav Sinha (BT/MT) won Evan Sampatacos Scholarship (Vertical Flight Foundation 2018 Scholarship) from the American Helicopter Society
  • Mr. Yonas Gebre (PhD student) won best poster award at International Workshop on  Sustainable  Energy, Power and Propulsion (ISEPP 2018) for his innovative work on high efficiency vertical axis wind turbine
  • Mentor and advisor to team that won First Round of 2018 UAS Flight and Payload Challenge organized by National Institute of Standards and Technology (US Department of Commerce) and Public Safety Communications Innovation Accelerator (USA)
  • Faculty Advisor to 3rd Prize winning team in the 34th American Helicopter Society Student Design Competition in graduate category (2017), this work was carried out as part of AE 660: Preliminary Design of Helicopters
  • Mr. Rama Krishna (BT/MT) and Mr. Rajat Tripathi (BTP) won Second prize in Techkriti Innovation Challenge, 2017 for designing remote controlled boomerang
  • Mr. Yonas Gebre (PhD student) won first prize in the student mechanism design contest at 2nd International and 17th National Conference on Machines and Mechanisms (iNaCoMM 2015)

Professional Societies Membership

  • Member of Aircraft Design Committee and Education Committee of American Helicopter Society
  • Section Editor, Journal of Unmanned System Technology
  • Member American Helicopter Society and AIAA
  • Reviewer: AIAA Journal, Journal of Aircraft, Journal of American Helicopter Society, International Journal of Unmanned System Technology, JUST, Computers and Fluids, IEEE conferences, SADHNA, Mechatronics, Aerospace Science and Technology (Elsevier), American Control Conference, Defense Science Journal etc.